Friday 56: The Complete Alice

The Complete Alice

by Lewis Caroll

 

The-Complete-Alice_56.jpg

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“This seemed to Alice a good opportunity for making her escape: so she set off at once, and ran until she was quite tired.”

I’VE FINALLY BEEN READING AGAIN! I HAVE FINALLY PICKED UP A NEW BOOK!

Sure, I am sure this much more exciting for me than for you… and I am still finishing up one of the too-many-books-I-started-too-close-together, but I also started reading this to my daughter even though she’s 2 and a half because the edition was just so fancy, it was begging to be read. Honestly, aside from the older language, I don’t think the storyline so far has been too much above her head, as Alice speaks and behaves as a real life child does (i.e. doesn’t make sense to adults) and the premise is that things keep changing size and animals wander in and out… Perhaps it will become more complicated later on, though. I read somewhere on the internet (always a reliable source for everything!) that much of Alice was Lewis Carroll mocking the newer mathematicians of the day because, well, bluntly, he didn’t really understand their ideas and considered them Wonderland style nonsense, so it is hard for me to get that out of my head while reading this.

21 thoughts on “Friday 56: The Complete Alice

    1. Like Peter Pan, I had never read the original and (now that I am inundated with the after effects as a parent) thought it was time to check out the “real thing.”

    1. She’s actually decently interested- she just listens and decides which of the animals or scenarios aren’t doing it for her, and plays with toys until someone more interesting pops up on the scene. And she loves the illustrations, which are the original ones.

  1. I have never cared for Alice In Wonderland. It creeped me out when I was a child, and as an adult it makes me feel like maybe that is what it would be like to be on an acid trip. 🙂 LOL, I’m aware I am pretty much in the minority when it comes to thing story. Have a great weekend! I’d love for you and your readers to check out mine… http://tinyurl.com/LisaKsBookReviewsTUIB

      1. Yup. I have read reports that Lewis Carroll may have had an “inappropriate thing” going on with the real life Alice’s mother- which is at least a less creepy take than that his inappropriate thing was with Alice. Reading about Lewis Carroll actually just points out some things about Victorian culture that were just plain weird but sort of ignored now.

    1. I’m in the same boat as you- I have a friend who loved Alice growing up, so I have tried to open my mind to it. (I was never a huge Peter Pan fan, but I did love the original novel when I read that recently, so I thought I’d give Lewis Carroll the same shot). It’s possible we just were exposed when we were too old. By the time I paid much attention, my reaction to Alice- anything was usually “WHHHAAAATTT?” But my daughter just sort of seems to shrug as Alice grows and shrinks, and characters just appear and disappear, like, “Yeah, that happens. Whatever.”

    1. I am still not quite sure how I feel about it, but I only read a chapter every night or so as our “bedtime book” so it’s slow progress. For the record, I have board books like “Planes Go” hanging around, and my daughter is mostly obsessed with the Magic School Bus, but I think the same way that we adults like to go between watching shows like “The Bachlor” and “The West Wing,” it’s good for kids to have different reading levels around.

    1. A lot of my friends have made the decision not to have kids (and feel very defensive about it, understandably, as people do tend to give others a hard time about this!)- when I was thinking about WHY I wanted to have kids, the first thought I had every time was “to read and share books with them, of course.” When my daughter was younger, I could read whatever I wanted aloud and she just liked hearing my voice. Now she’s old enough and mobile enough to make her opinions on things known. I was reading The Twistrose Key aloud when she was sleepy, and I thought she paid no attention. When I switched to Ruin and Rising, after a few pages, she interrupted, “Not Twistrose. I don’t like this book!” and knocked it out of my hand!

Leave a Reply

