Friday 56: A Banquet of Consequences

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“That’s enough, William.” Caroline turned him to her  and he knew that he was quadruple blinking because he could barely see her. She said, “You must stop this at once. If you aren’t able, I’m going to have to ring nine-nine-nine and they’ll take you God only knows where and you don’t want that. Where are your medicines? Are they packed?”

In all honesty, I just shipped this book off as a Mother’s Day gift, so this is from 56% of the preview available on goodreads, because I forgot to check this out beforehand. My mom has an especial fondness for British crime fiction, so I hope I picked well (speaking of which, this little scene seemed to be mostly William lashing out at his mother, so perhaps an ironic Mother’s Day pick…

8 thoughts on “Friday 56: A Banquet of Consequences

  1. Hi Brooke, I’m visiting from Friday 56 at Freda’s Voice!

    This must be a popular series for it to be on #19. It’s a little hard to tell from the snippet, but it seems like maybe the woman doesn’t think the man s as bad off as he thinks? Why else would it seem like a threat to call “999”?

    Here’s my Friday 56.

    1. I love the 9-9-9… it must be a British thing? The woman (I think) is his mother and is taking his pretty horrific, jumbled melt down fairly well in stride…

    1. Yeah, the preview text was quite small, and I had to avoid a fair amount of profanity in his rantings… Thank you for hosting the 56 every week, by the way. I have been having trouble getting reading time lately, so I have not picked anything else up, and needed to skip this week, but it is much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

