Friday 56: Peter Pan

Peter Pan

by J.M. Barrie

IMG_9869-0
Enter a caption

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

Hello, all, and thank you for stopping by this week! I am in a dreadful place with books because I have been experimenting with reading multiple books at once, which means that I am currently (still) reading Morning Star (Red Rising, #3), All the Bright PlacesRuin and Rising (The Grisha, #3), and even giving a literary magazine a try (Glimmer Train Stories, #95) (and hence not really progressing too quickly with any of them).(And I only want to feature books twice if I feel they have earned it, and I am not sure any of those listed above have)

Also, my two year old has become so obsessed with the concept of Peter Pan that I was starting to wish he never existed. I never liked any movie adaptations of Peter Pan until 2003, and I heard that one was the most faithful to the book… so to make my daughter’s obsession less dreadful, I decided to give the original a try, and, much to my surprise, I am LOVING it so far. The language is very old fashioned, but the jokes underneath it are still quite relevant to modern day parenting! And my daughter is so entranced with the flying boy that after three pages of beautiful Victorian(?) prose and adult jokes going over her head, she hears the name Peter Pan and jumps up yelling “Peter Pan is at the window! Peter Pan is at the window!” So it’s much more fun than sitting through yet another Little Golden book adaptation of the 1953 cartoon!

PS My daughter is awake and climbing on me as I write this, I will be very surprised if I don’t between 1-35 typos in this- my apologies!

“To Michael the loneliness was dreadful. ‘If only someone would make a sound!’ he cried.

As if in answer to his request, the air was rent by the most tremendous crash he had ever heard. The pirates had fired Long Tom at them.

The roar of it echoed through the mountains, and the echoes seemed to cry savagely, ‘Where are they, where are they, where are they?’

Thus sharply did the terrified three learn the difference between an island of make-believe and the same island come true.”

 

8 thoughts on “Friday 56: Peter Pan

    1. Thanks- we are behind on everything in life right now, so we are reading it very slowly, and my two year plays with blocks or something else and randomly shouts “shadow” or “crocodile” when a scene comes along that interests her.

    1. Thank you for visiting- my daughter has been keeping me busy all week! If you wanted to cheat, you could try the live action one I mentioned in the post- it’s pretty accurate, albeit much more linear than the novel! The novel has a sort of meandering way about it, I think in honor of how children’s minds go from here to there on their own time frame!

    2. We are picking our way slowly through the book, since I am reading it aloud to a 2 year old, I wait until her more patient moments. She is so fond of Peter Pan in general that she tells us several times a day (often first thing when she wakes up) that he is outside our window, but she cracked us up this morning by informing us that “only Wendy could grow up.” She had a point there…

    1. Some of the phrases are a bit outdated, but overall, it’s really fun, and a much more interesting version of Peter Pan than in the more streamlined versions that came later!

Leave a Reply

