Friday 56: Morning Star

by Pierce Brown

IMG_9831
“Ares is always on the move.” “Lots to do. Only one Ares.” ~Pierce Brown, Morning Star

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“Ares is always on the move.”
“Lots to do. Only one Ares.”
~Pierce Brown, Morning Star

11 thoughts on “Friday 56: Morning Star

    1. The first book I read really quickly and complained about significant parts of, but still ultimately enjoyed enough to buy the second one almost immediately. The second one was better- more original and better fleshed out, I thought. I am at page 56 exactly on the third though, so I can’t say much yet on it.

    1. I saw the author speak this week (am working on a blog post about it) but he said he really admired and strove for the “lifeblood” in series like LOTR and HP- even the Twilight series, which he admitted he wasn’t a fan of the writing, but there was something visceral that sucked you into the world and kept you reading- I think his series has that kind of energy. And I love all the cover art for it!

    1. Thanks… This one is fun in a very different way than the cozy mysteries you featured- my phone won’t allow me to comment on your post & I’m out all day, so let me say here quickly how much I love the titles in that series!

    1. I will say- I don’t normally like straight sci fi, but I still enjoyed this series. Somehow all of the ancient Rome references canceled out the spaceships for me…. to each their own genre, or sub!

    1. Great catch- that is the inspiration the “code name.” The society has built itself up on our old myths- especially the Roman ones, so going back to the Greek name was a little bit of a rebellion.

Leave a Reply

