Friday 56: Ruin and Rising

by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_9663
““It was the first time we’d been allowed to gather underground, and there was something comforting about seeing Grisha crowded together and sprawled over the meager furniture. Mal didn’t seem to agree. ”We might as well travel with a marchig band,” he grumbled under his breath.” ~Leigh Bardugo, Ruin and Rising

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“It was the first time we’d been allowed to gather underground, and there was something comforting about seeing Grisha crowded together and sprawled over the meager furniture.

Mal didn’t seem to agree. ”We might as well travel with a marchig band,” he grumbled under his breath.

5 thoughts on “Friday 56: Ruin and Rising

  1. I have Ruin & Rising on my shelf, but I just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. The 56 is nice, so I guess I should eventually give the series another try.

    1. I do love, love, love the cover art for these books, but there are so many series out there I enjoyed more… after the second book, I didn’t have much interest in getting the third. However, now the series is getting so much hype, I feel like I have to finish it out and see if the author pulls something unexpected out of her hat. I’m not even to page 56 yet, so I’m with-holding judgment still.

    1. I didn’t think the second book lived up to the potential of the first one, but Leigh Bardugo’s recent book has been getting such good press, I thought I’d give the third book a shot to redeem the series, but I’ve barely started it so I have no opinions yet.

Leave a Reply

