Friday 56: The Golem and the Jinni (redux)

Golem-&-the-Jinni,-pg-256
“At the far side of the lake- he blinked, and tried to wipe his eyes, but it was still there- a tall, winged figure floated above the frozen water. It was an angel. He laughed once, raw in this throat. At last. But the angel did not move. It only hovered, as if waiting. Considering.” ~Helene Wecker, The Golem and the Jinni

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

***So, I am still on the same book, but also, I just started participating in instragram as well, and I couldn’t resist using this picture of the angel at Bethseda Fountain in Central Park- the same angel the character imagines to be the Angel of Death in this scene.

“At the far side of the lake- he blinked, and tried to wipe his eyes, but it was still there- a tall, winged figure floated above the frozen water. It was an angel.
He laughed once, raw in this throat. At last.
But the angel did not move. It only hovered, as if waiting. Considering.”

12 thoughts on “Friday 56: The Golem and the Jinni (redux)

    1. One of the things I love about this book is reading about these familiar New York landmarks- some are unchanged since the time the book is set in, a few have moved, the tone of the neighborhoods have definitely changed!

  1. It’s a great picture! I still haven’t figured Instagram out, one day… I’m happy to read an extract from this one, as I’ve seen the cover about quite a bit on different blogs and it’s intrigued me…

    1. I just joined instagram last week… I thought this friday56 thread would be a fun way to figure it out, but I feel it’s still a bit over my head and I have some technical gripes with the site (like you can only upload pictures from your phone, then it saves copies of the photo- with the fancy filter applied- to your phone’s library, which is a problem for people like me, who perpetually max out the memories on their devices… long story short, I’m a much bigger fan of this book than instagram. It’s definitely worth a read!

Leave a Reply

