Friday 56: The Golem and the Jinni

Golem-&-the-Jinni

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“He had survived to this old age through forbidden and dangerous arts, his considerable wits, and a horror of death that drove all all else before it.”

25 thoughts on “Friday 56: The Golem and the Jinni

    1. I think you’d like it- the historical setting is really interesting and feels very authentic, even if the two main characters are mythic creatures stuck in our mundane reality!

    1. I love it so far… My wife read it before and said it reminded her of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, my all-time favorite… Which I can see, the combination of the fantastical with the historic, the web of character’s lives coming together… I’m only 100 pages in but it seems like it will be a consistent book and not flop at the end as some do.

      1. I’m glad to hear that- I can forgive books slow starts, but sloppy endings really annoy me. I think the main difference between the two books I see so far is that Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is very British, from the mythology to the humor, and Golem and the Jinni is very American- even or especially because of the way the two cultures are weaving together.

      1. I thought I had seen something about it on goodreads, so just went to check. It looks like the second book is titled “The Iron Season” and slated to be published in 2018. I am definitely excited for it too!

      2. Looks like it is still in the editing stage, but it has been for awhile. I will go out on a limb and say they should take their time to do it right and not rush. The first book was so well crafted, I have high hopes the second one will be up to same standards.

Leave a Reply

