Friday 56: Red Rising

 Happy New Year everyone! Following a brief hiatus due to an extremely persistent cold dragging me, my toddler, and my wife down for the past month, on top of the holidays, I return, with an appropriately titled YA fantasy for the New Year!  Happy 2016, y’all!

15839976

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“Death is easy when you’ve already tried to find it.”

9 thoughts on “Friday 56: Red Rising

  1. There is a teacher at my school which is very high on this book and series. I have it on my TBR pile (figurative) Hope you are enjoying it and that you feel better soon. I’ve been nursing a cold all Christmas season, too.

    1. A lot of people have… my brother seems to have caught ours when he came home for the holidays, and is spreading our germs over to the West Coast now as well! I can see how someone could get a little obsessive about this one… a quote on the back compares it to a mash up of Hunger Games and Game of Thrones- both of which I prefer, but I can see someone who’s sick of hearing about the bigger books latching on to these as alternatives different enough to stand out.

  2. I tried to read this book late last year. (I almost wrote earlier this year, then I remembered it was the new year.)
    I couldn’t get into it. I think I just wasn’t really in the mood to read it, I’ll probably pick it up again at a later date. I hope you’re enjoying it though, I’ve heard really great things about the series.

    My Friday:Marie @ Pages to Explore

    1. I understand that… I’m enjoying it as a fun read, and it is better written and constructed than a lot of books in this genre, but I haven’t really connected with any of the characters yet.

Leave a Reply

