Book Beginnings & Friday 56: Library of Souls

BookBeginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“The monster stood not a tongue’s length away, eyes fixed on our throats, shriveled brain crowded with fantasies of murder.”

First Impression: Sounds like a fun Friday night:-) We had seen Ransom Riggs so recently at Barnes at Noble, I’m excited to get to his book so quickly.

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

Page 56 of Library of Souls

PS I love the photos in these books- so glad page 56 worked out this way!

16 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & Friday 56: Library of Souls

    1. Well, it’s the third in a trilogy (I’m so glad to know this is the last- I enjoy them, but hate it when series drag on too long). The books themselves are beautiful- like works of art the way the photographs are presented, and dark colored pages frame transitions like curtains. At the least, they’re worth admiring the artistry some time when you’re in a book store!

    1. Well, we picked up the book as soon as it came out, I think, since Barnes & Noble was having an event with the actual Ransom Riggs (okay, I deeply suspect that’s his pen name, but I don’t hold it against him)

    1. True- I can’t separate out the story from the experience of flipping through the pages. Last time, I think I held the book up at least twenty times, and kept saying, “I feel like I’m holding a work of art.” (Obviously, books are a different kind of art, but this one crosses the line with its visuals!)

    1. Spoiler alert: it was pretty terrifying about 5 seconds before this scene, at the ending of book 2- but an event has occurred that “put it in its place”- at least for the time being. I enjoyed the first two but am looking forward to things tying up instead of (potentially over-)expanding- 3 seems like the right number for this.

Leave a Reply

