Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Lockwood & Co: The Screaming Staircase

BookBeginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“Of the first few hauntings I investigated with Lockwood & Co. I intend to say little, in part to protect the identity of the victims, in part because of the gruesome nature of the incidents, but mainly because, in a variety of ingenious ways, we succeeded in messing them all up.”

First Impression: I’m still reading the third book in this series, so I just thought I’d go back and give a shout out to the first, since I hadn’t started doing these shares when I was reading it. And, oh, it was a great start for a great book!

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“The haunted house in Pliny’s story? It was probably the only one in Athens, which is why it was so cheap. Here in London, there are dozens of them, with more springing up all the time, no matter what the agencies do. In those days ghosts were fairly rare. Now we’ve got an epidemic.”

13 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Lockwood & Co: The Screaming Staircase

    1. Like on my blog, because I’m obsessed? 🙂 On goodreads, it looks like a lot of people are shipping some characters I don’t want to end up together, so I guess I should start to worry!

    1. Well, I found Bartimaeus in my 20’s, and am now eating up Lockwood in my 30’s… so I’m probably not the “intended audience.” He is an author I really hope my daughter grows up to enjoy though!

  1. Someone else posted about a Lockwood book this week. It must be a very popular series.

    Thanks for participating in BBOF! I don’t often get around to everyone to leave a comment, but I am glad you are playing along!

Leave a Reply

