Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Armada

BookBeginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“I was staring out the classroom window and daydreaming of adventure when I spotted the flying saucer.”

First Impression: Unlike the narrator, I don’t need to blink and look again. This one’s from Ernest Cline of Ready Player One fame, so I know it’s not a hallucination.

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“I’m not saying you have to go to college, honey. Join a monastery! Join the Peace Corps! Join the f***ing X-Men- I don’t care what you do, as long as you do something! Okay?”

I pretended to sigh in relief.

“In that case, maybe I’ll run off and join the circus.” I said. “I could start off as a weight guesser, then maybe work my way up to operating the Tilt-a-Whirl.”

10 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Armada

    1. Well, I’m only about 20 pages in, I’m still working through the exposition (which, I’m gathering, comes down to: get ready for some Star Wars/Ender’s Game lovin’!) I haven’t reached it yet, but I loved the conversation between him and his Mom on page 56!

    1. My dad has a long commute fell in love with audiobooks years ago, and is so excited that they’ve become a “thing.” He also loved, loved, LOVED Ready Player One, so needless to say, he’s made it very clear what’s on his wishlist… I felt a little bad reading this conversation… I’m technically a functional adult (supported myself for years, married, have a toddler, STILL haven’t actually had to ask my parents for money) yet I still feel like the protagonist… waiting for some unexpected path to jump out at me, sometime, anytime now….

Leave a Reply

