Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Harry Potter and ‘;the Philosopher’s Stone

Book Beginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“Mr and Mrs Durseley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

First Impression: Revisiting an old favorite here! I’m actually an American, but someone gave me a British copy as a gift, which is fun to have around! (Plus, I knew about the Philosopher’s Stone before Harry Potter existed, so I still dislike that they changed that for the American edition

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 “…a small hole appeared- it grew wider and wider- a second later they were facing an archway large enough for Hagrid, an archway on to a cobbled street which twisted and turned out of sight.

‘Welcome,’ said Hagrid, ‘to Diagon Alley.’

20 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56: Harry Potter and ‘;the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. Wonderful choice!
    I saw a train station photo that actually added a ‘this way to Hogwart’s’ sign in the terminal. It was cute to see, though I hope no one fell for it. LOL I was instantly reminded of that from your selection this week.
    Happy weekend!
    Freda’s Voice

    1. I’m still reading last week’s book, so looked at the stash of books I’ve read but always have to keep on hand, and this was an easy winner! I don’t know… it might be worth a foray around the station JUST IN CASE there was an outgoing train:-)

    1. They’re great books, but even better when you get to share them with someone. I can’t wait until my daughter is ready for them. She has a good attention span for a kid her age, but I think two still might be pushing it a bit!

Leave a Reply

