Book Beginnings and Friday 56: The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

by James Dashner

Book Beginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.”

First Impression: Okay, again cheating. I already saw the movie. I’m reading the book, actually, because I liked the movie so much. So I already know what’s happening here.

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“Then Alby’s words started to make sense and panic flared in Thomas. “You don’t think I…” He couldn’t even finish the sentence.

“Slim it, Greenie,” Newt said. “We’re not sayin’ you bloody killed the girl.”

14 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56: The Maze Runner

  1. I haven’t seen the movie, I was intrigued by the trailer and thought I would read the book first, which I still haven’t done either. Hope you like it, I’ll be on the lookout for your review.

  2. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I want too. I was kind of thinking I’d do like you’re doing and if I like the movie I’d go back and read the book. Enjoy!

    1. The movie was great- perfect for the kind of movie it was. I’m still waiting for the book to pick up a bit more, but then I’m much less curious about the mystery of his wiped memories & such having seen the film first.

  3. I’ve not read this book or seen the movie but it sounds quite intense and quite funny! Your Friday 56 is quite amusing, lol. I like the BB because it makes you really curious about the character and what his story is 🙂
    Have a great day,
    Amy x

    1. I loved the book, and met the author at BookCon and found him very charming, so I feel bad saying this, but maybe not? I thought the story translated really well to the big screen- and the movie was extremely close to the book- but the book had a lot of statements of the obvious- which I think is probably good for younger readers, but was less appealing for adults.

      1. It’s not like I think it’s a bad book- everything good I liked about the movie started in the book!- I just don’t think it’s one of those YA’s that should be recommended across all age groups.

Leave a Reply

