The Dust Jacket: Romance Novelists at Bryant Park

Yesterday, I made it to Bryant Park’s Word for Word program: Romance Authors. Hosted by Joyce Lamb, Happy Ever After Curator & Blogger, USA Today. My daughter even obliged me by sleeping through it, so I managed to actually listen a bit to each author. Below are the highlights . Please excuse the paraphrasing.

Robyn Carr, Four Friends, Never Too Late Kristan Higgins, The Best Man, In Your Dreams Elizabeth Hoyt, Dearest Rogue Beverly Jenkins, For Your Love, Destiny’s Captive Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Heroes Are My Weakness Meredith Wild, Hardwired

Beverly Jenkins (For Your Love, Destiny’s Captive, third from the left) specializes in African-American historical romance, so (not shockingly) a lot of her ideas come from historical sources, which is rife with inspiring stories. She fond the inspiration for Indigo in the true story of a free man who sold himself into slavery for the love of a woman. “I don’t have to make this stuff up!”

Kristan Higgins (The Best Man, In Your Dreams, Fourth in from the left): Apparently, there’s nothing like being a romance novelist to help you collect ideas for your next book. Strangers are constantly confessing their problems to her: like the woman who she ran into in the ladies room after a screening of Magic Mike, who looked her in the eye and said, “I just found out my husband cheated on me. I always assumed I would leave him, but now that it’s happened, I’m not sure.”

Meredith Wild (second from the right) read an excerpt from Hardwired, from the Hacker series that was seriously fun and reflected some of her real life experience working in the tech world. The excerpt had as much, or more, about self empowerment as the fulfillment of sexual fantasies (although maybe she was keeping it PG for the outdoor reading!), but it won major bonus points from me, anyway.

Leave a Reply

