Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

Emma Donoghue, Room

Book Beginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“Today I’m five. I was four last night going to sleep in Wardrobe, but when I wake up in Bed in the dark I’m changed to five, abracadabra.”

First Impression: Okay, I can’t claim any first impressions because I finally picked this book up after listening to the author speak at BookCon, knowing the entire plot. However, it works out well because that passage on page 56 is when I really got drawn into the story, when you really start to examine Ma’s action critically, through Jack’s 5 year old perspective…

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“I think Mouse just might come back if we’re really quiet but he doesn’t, Ma must have stuffed up every single hole. She’s not mean, but sometimes she does mean things.

When we get up, we do Scream, I cash the pan lids like cymbals. Scream goes on for ages because every time I’m starting to stop Ma screeches some more, her voice is nearly disappearing.”

10 thoughts on “Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

    1. It’s supposed to read pretty quickly, so I’ll let you know soon… I think being told from the five year old’s perspective shelters the reader from some of the worst experiences- at least it seems that way so far.

  1. Just reading those passages brought back all the strong feelings I had reading this book several years ago. It’s very powerful, heart-wrenching and beautiful at the same time. The fact that my reaction is still so strong says a lot about the writing. I think it’s Donoghue’s finest work to date.

    1. I wasn’t too keen on the subject matter, so had been avoiding it, but seeing her in person broke my stubborn streak, and I’m glad. I’m pretty impressed so far at what she’s accomplished, and I’m not halfway through yet.

    1. I avoided it because of the plot synopsis- I’m not too into crime fiction- or honestly- anything that’s too realistic, but I thought what she did with this really transcended the “pulling from the headlines” approach it could have been.

Leave a Reply

