Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it. *Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“The Dragon didn’t mark the holiday; for all I knew, he didn’t even know what day it was. I went to the library the same as always, and droned through another spell, and he shouted for a while and then dismissed me.”

~Naomi Novik, Uprooted

Book Beginnings (a la Rose City Reader)

“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley.”

First Impression: I love this opening line…. I love *alternative* dragon stories! (Although it’s pretty clear from the first page that the Dragon is, at least a bit, human.)

10 thoughts on “Friday 56 and Book Beginnings

    1. I suppose as dragons go, he’s not so grumpy, but as humans go, he might consider picking out a trash can by a certain famous green grouch… Although that would certainly make him much more miserable! He loves fine clothes far too much!

    1. It’s actually playing out like a version of Beauty and the Beast, with the Dragon as a grumpy wizard. I never like to include a synopsis, because I see these quotes as a fun way to get tipped off about the writing style, without getting too tripped up by things like genre. I’ve been reading it very quickly, so I think the author’s deliberately gone with simpler language, either because it’s narrated by a peasant girl, or to keep the more complicated aspects more relatable.

      1. OOPS- I was getting caught up comments and was a little mixed up- the following comment below is about Room, which I just finished & did for the next week’s post. “I thought she did a great job of taking a really extreme scenario and approaching it in a way that made me (anyway) look at my own, boring life a little differently.”
        Uprooted was a great fantasy novel, and I did relate parts of it (especially the Big Bad, the ever creeping Woods) to a very archetypal view of the real world (probably the id, but my my psychology is rusty), but it wasn’t really how I would bill this particular book to people considering it!

Leave a Reply

