Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

“We have a mission,” he said plainly. “We’re here to get Grandpa into a home, sell this place to an experienced residential developer in a lucrative real estate transaction, and get out. In and out, commando-style.”

“So you can get back together with Mom,” he clarified. “So let’s keep our eyes on the prize, buddy. Your cooperation in this endeavor will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for your understanding.”

He headed off across the meadow.

Frustrated by my dad’s Vulcan-like air of disinterest, I called after him: “Hey Dad, repeat after me: ‘Primary objective: getting back together with my wife-‘”

He kept walking.”

~Garth Stein, A Sudden Light

P.S. I saw him speak last November… I’m embarrassed it took me so long to get around to reading the book… It sounded good at the talk, but it’s an even better read than I anticipated so far.

7 thoughts on “Friday 56

    1. It’s funny- I actually like the dad, even if he and his teenager are going through some of the same issues at the moment… I’m really enjoying the way none of the family members are being vilified, even if they aren’t always making the best choices!

    1. I was torn- the book is part family drama, part haunted house story. Page 56 actually was actually a near perfect split- half hinting at the eeriness of Riddell House, half the troubled relationship between the father and the son… but I wound up featuring the father/son relationship because I also loved the line “Vulcan-like air of disinterest.”

Leave a Reply

