Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

Labyrinths: Selected Stories & Other Writings by Jorge Luis Borges

“For a century they exhausted in vain the most varied areas? How could one locate the venerated regressive method: To locate Book A, consult first a Book B which indicates A’s position; to locate book B, consult first a book C, and so on to infinity… In adventures such as these, I have squandered and wasted my years.”

~Jorge Luis Borges, The LIbrary of Babel, from Labyrinths: Selected Stories & Other Writings

11 thoughts on “Friday 56

    1. One of my former bosses is from Argentina, and he was one of the authors she had told me about that, that she didn’t think was read widely enough in North America… then a few years later, my brother (who’s in academia) bought me this compilation because, apparently, he’s credited with beginning the magical realism movement. I’m only two stories in though, so I can’t say yet how much this collection will change my worldview!

    1. This is from the third story, and I’ve only read the first two… both of which were confusing, but, I think, managed to make their point clear by the end….

  1. I think this one sounds a bit too heavy for me at the moment, but perhaps I’ll put it in wait for when I’m ready for something a bit heavier than teen vampire fiction 🙂

Leave a Reply

