Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“Do you enjoy holidays with your family? I don’t mean your mom and dad family, but your uncle and aunt and cousin family? Personally, I do. There are several reasons for this.

First, I am very interested and fascinated by how everyone loves each other, but no one likes each other. Second, the fights are always the same.”

~Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

13 thoughts on “Friday 56

  1. Holidays were always with my parents and siblings. My Mom was an only child, so no aunts or uncles there, and while my Dad came from a big family, my aunts and uncles were never very close to us. Click on my name for my Beginning and 56.

    1. I never liked big family gatherings. The rest of my extended family lived far away, so knew each other, and my brother and I would feel like the strangers from out of town.

  2. Hahaha, that’s an absolutely genius F56 because it is vey true! Family loves each other but that doesn’t mean they like each other a lot. I have a family reunion coming up soon, and I’m wondering whether there will be any arguments! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have an amazing weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  3. The dynamics of family relationships are always fascinating, aren’t they? Your excerpt makes me want to find out what’s going on. I love the way the book’s cover relates to its title. The title looks like a wallflower, stuck off by itself.
    My Friday post features WILLOW VALE.

    1. I think I tried listening to it as an audiobook years ago, before audio books worked for me, and it went in one ear and out the other… But we picked up a physical copy of the book because we also loved the movie. (Another case where the author was heavily involved with the film, and everyone won out!)

      1. I am watching that movie right now! It’s a belated birthday wish of mine watch it with my daughter for the first time, but she watched about 5 minutes and has been wandering around taking every toy she can find out and leaving them in the middle of the floor! I’m planning on writing a blog post comparing Goldman’s book to the movie and the movie to Cary Elwes’ recent memoir about the making of the film. We will see how long it takes me!

    1. The movie is a great, and has a heavier dose of nostalgia than I remembered in the book. If anyone remembers sitting by the radio, waiting for the right song to come on, with your finger on “record,” trying to capture those opening bars on cassette, in the days before iTunes, shazzam, and illegal downloads… then, some part of the movie will break your heart (in a good way).

Leave a Reply

