Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

“I stop for a second when I hear a bunch of smaller bangs from the direkshun of the house which gotta be rifle shots and I think of the rifle that Cillian took from Mr. Prentiss Jr. and all the rifles that Mayor Prentiss and his men have locked away in the town and how all those guns against Cillian’s stolen rifle and the few others we got in the house ain’t gonna be much of a fight for very long and it gets me to wondering what the bigger bangs were and I realize they were probably Cillian blowing up the generators to confuse the men and make everyone’s Noise so loud they can’t hear even the whisper of mine way out here.

All this for me to get away.”

~Patrick NessThe Knife of Never Letting Go

5 thoughts on “Friday 56

    1. I tried to comment on your blog, but am not very social media savvy and only have a wordpress account… but who wouldn’t want to witness anyone’s debut at shoveling chicken poop??? That’s quite enough reason to pick up a book!

      I do love the Chaos Walking trilogy. It’s easily in my top ten series of all time, and it sold me on Patrick Ness. He’d pretty much have to churn out three low quality books a year and “un-out” his “outed” characters for me to take him off my favorite author’s list!

Leave a Reply

