Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

What a fun way to add to your book shopping list!

(Note: I know I went a bit long with the quote, but Jonathan Stroud is one of hand hands-down favorites these days, both for his sense of humor and for the extremely well-drawn details of the worlds he creates for his characters: I wanted to capture a little of that here.)

“He carried an enormous and untidy bundle of documents, and was gazing around at Lockwood’s collection of Asian ghost-catchers with wide-eyed curiosity.

“We were hoping you might be able to give us some assistance this evening,” Saunders went on. “‘Course, I’ve got a good day team working under me already: spades man, backhoe drivers, corpse wranglers, light technicians… plus the usual night squad. But tonight we need some proper agency firepower as well.

He winked at us, as if that settled the matter, and took a loud slurp of tea. Lockwood’s polite smile remained fixed, as if nailed in position. “Indeed. And what exactly do you want us to do? And where?”

~Lockwood & Co.: The Whispering Skull, by Jonathan Stroud

 

11 thoughts on “Friday 56

    1. I’m greatly enjoying it so far, and, I have even more confidence recommending them since, in my opinion, he totally nailed the Bartimaeus books from start to finish.

      1. Sometimes I love these “kid” stories. Your comment only confirms my thought that I would like it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

