The Friday 56…

The Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman

“I hurried toward Fruit Bat’s grove, worry beginning to catch up with me now. Fruit Bat was my very favorite grotesque, and the only orange tree in the garden grew in his stand of figs, dates, lemons, and other Porphyrian fruits. I reached the grove and looked up, but he wasn’t among the leaves. I looked down. he’d stacked fallen fruit into tidy pyramids, but he was nowhere to be seen.

He had never left his designated space before, not once. I stood a long time, staring at the empty trees, trying to rationalize his absence.

Trying to slow my panicked heart.”

~Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman

8 thoughts on “The Friday 56…

  1. I wonder why she’d be looking to the trees for him. Who is he anyway?? I get his name is fruit bat, but feel he is neither fruit nor bat…..
    I’m so intrigued.
    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

