The Friday 56…

The Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

The Princess Bride

“She had entered her room, as just an impossibly lovely girl. The woman who emerged was a trifle thinner, a great deal wiser, an ocean sadder. This one understood the nature of pain, and beneath the glory of her features, there was character, and a sure knowledge of suffering.

She was eighteen. She was the most beautiful woman in a hundred years. She didn’t seem to care.”

~The Princess Bride, William Goldman (… or S. Morgenstern’s?)

 

11 thoughts on “The Friday 56…

    1. The book is so odd and, I suppose, “meta” but before “meta” was a thing… Once I finish it, I’m going to re watch the movie, read Cary Elwes’ “memoir,” As You Wish, and write a post comparing all three… Eventually….

  1. I read this years ago and love it (almost more than the awesome movie). I actually picked it up recently, flipped to a random page and was immediately reminded how good it is. I think I might have to read it again.

    1. Honestly, I got my hands on this book as a kid (I have this old, super embarrassing edition where they describe it as “William Goldman’s Hot Fairytale Classic” with “Now a Terrific Motion Picture” under this very stiff picture of Robin Wright and Cary Elwes in their wedding outfits… I think the publishers are ashamed of it… I couldn’t even find a picture of this cover in a Google image search…) And I was furious! And what the hell was this S. Morgenstern crap William Goldman kept mocking??? Well, I didn’t care, I was going to hunt down this S. Morgenstern book and read every last word he mocked and was determined to love it no matter what William Goldman said about it… Yeah, well, you know how that turned out! (i felt better after, at a book signing of Cary Elwes’ As You Wish, someone stood up and told the same story because “those were the days before Internet”)

      Reading the book now that I’m “in” on the joke is a totally different experience!

      1. I actually thought the “joke” was hilarious when I found out about it. At some point during the story, I started to suspected something was up. It probably helped that I have a pretty good mind for history and countries, so having it set in “Florin” was really throwing me. I kept thinking ‘Is this some obscure Italian principality I’ve never heard of?’ I could see being a lot more annoyed with the narrator if I weren’t already suspicious.

      2. I know I was a kid, but I’m so embarrassed now that I didn’t figure it out. Aside from the huge giveaway that was “Florin”… Wesley’s wearing blue jeans (blue jeans were invented considerably before most people thought)… And how could there be a time before Europe, but after Paris????

        I do recall preferring Buttercup in the movie, so I’ll see, once I reach the end, how my reaction to her changes…

Leave a Reply

