Loved the Trailer…. Can’t Wait… for the Book?

Let’s start with the unnecessary backstory: I wanted to create a truly personalized wedding gift for my friends, and I wracked my brain, searched every google image of black cats available, and just generally over thought the whole thing until I eventually settled on a cutting board engraved with their initials. I swear it’s better than it sounds. Because the font I used for the initials was from Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City, and everything in those books is beau-ti-ful, down to the lettering. (Seriously, both “productions” are works of art.) As far as I know, though, only one member of the couple has actually read the books because: the trailer looked too scary.

That probably is the best book trailer I have seen. (I know it’s up there in its field, as I don’t think many book trailers get Director’s Cuts) It passes my ultimate trailer test: truth in advertising. It’s well made, enticing, and, most importantly, actually captures the spirit of the book. (Sorry to my friend, though, I don’t find it that scary.)

I haven’t finished Hollow City yet, but that trailer falls off the mark for me. It calls to mind a particularly creepy episode of The X Files, and the book is more reminiscent of the Goonies than a true work of horror. (And I mean that in the best way)

I haven’t decided how I feel about the trailer for Patrick Ness’ More Than This, but I also can’t think of a way to describe the book to potential readers other than: I know it starts slow, but keep reading it gets f****ing amazing.

Watching these, my wife declared, “They’re query letters for readers!” (Yes, I’ve been doing my research on Querysherk’s blog). The same could be said of the book flap, though, and those descriptions have the advantage of not interfering with the reader’s privilege of visualizing the characters and settings however they please (even if they are sometimes wrong: how many people read The Hunger Games and missed the fact that Rue was, at the very least, not white and then posted angry comments about it on the internet?)

While I understand the premise, I still can’t quite get behind it. Reading activates a different part of my brain, and there’s so much about the author’s writing style that can’t be captured in a different medium.

But then again, they’re still more fun than google searching black cats.

Leave a Reply

